22 copy copy

INTRODUCING: L.I.G.O. (Laser Interferometer Gravitational Wave Observatory)

L.I.G.O. (Laser Interferometer Gravitational Wave Observatory) is an extreme metal band from Krasnodar (South Russia) formed back in 2003 by a group of musicians seeking to play a quintessence of metal music genres. Stylistically, the band cannot be labeled as limiting itself to a specific extreme music trend, whatsoever; instead, L.I.G.O. has become a melting pot helping the musicians blend their musical preferences together into an integral entity embracing most metal music genres. Despite the diversity of ingredients, the final product safely escaped eclecticism and rather became a compilation of whatever the metal scene has achieved over the past decades. The bands lyrics, essentially compilative, too, mainly addresses the simple yet inexhaustible concepts like inter- and parapersonal interaction between human beings along with such everlasting constants as life and death. L.I.G.O. members have no illusions as to the fate of mankind and make no secret of this scepticism of theirs. However, they do their best not to be slaves to the misanthropic stereotypes that dominate most metal bands lyrics. Making an evident emphasis on scientific terminology, L.I.G.O. wishes to make yet another step away from the clichés the extreme music is invariably associated with. At times, scientific vocabulary becomes excessive, yet the band does not fear this would make them look grotesque. On the contrary, the musicians are 100% sure L.I.G.O. will only benefit from being self-ironic as opposed to other metal bands that tend to be too serious when addressing philosophical subjects.

In 2003, the band completed a 4-track promo album Singularity (MCD-R, self-prod.) featuring an epic title track Singularity followed by a shorter yet no less impressive song called Thief. The promo enjoyed favorable coverage in metal music media (Black Minds / and Under Black Water / webzines, Dark City magazine / In Spring 2004, L.I.G.O. recorded and mixed the bands debut full-length album No One Safe featuring five brand new tracks (including a King Crimson cover song Three Of A Perfect Pair) plus the fully re-recorded promo CD material. After sending out promo CDs to various addresses, the band ended up signing to Russias best underground label More Hate Productions for their debut CD release both in Russia and abroad. The album was favorably acclaimed in underground media (Raw Nerve,, Pull The Chain,, Dead Souls, along with the Dark City, In Rock, Hatross, Fatal Forum magazines) and was nearly fully sold out within the first few months following its release, which allowed qualifying L.I.G.O. as one of the Russias leading underground bands.

October 2005, L.I.G.O. recorded their second full-length album named Handle Your Business. The new album greatly differs from the previous release and marks a new milestone in the bands career. The deliberate harshness of sound on their debut album was replaced by more detailed sound palette, and the texts became significantly more social-oriented. Generally speaking, Handle Your Business can be viewed as a pamphlet aimed at our to-days society marked by omnipresent incompetence of authorities, law enforcement agencies and social institutes that in no way oppose to escalation of violence and degradation of paradigm of social relations. As mentioned before, L.I.G.O. is a side project formed by members of well-known underground bands. However, they would rather prefer not to disclose their real names till later. This would allow avoiding unnecessary comparisons, as L.I.G.O. has nothing to do with these bands in terms of the music they play.

Laser Interferometer Gravitational Wave Observatory (L.I.G.O) line-up:

  • Stephen 'Vivid Incarnation of Human-Machine Interface' Hawking - Synthesized Broadcasts of Prophecies and Revelations
  • Edwin 'Telescopic Explorer of the Horizons' Hubble - Unobstructed rendering of axiomatic fundamentals
  • Albert 'Exiled Dreamer of the Impossible' Einstein - DAFCGC beyond the light speed limits
  • Jocelyn 'Sidereal Low Frequencies Master' Bell - Congruent pulsation of critical masses
  • Robert 'Lord of the Fate of Mortals, the Exalted One' Oppenheimer - Chain reaction of nuclear blast beats


Promo CD-R 2003 "Singularity" (Mini album - for promo purposes only)

  1. Nuclear Silence I 0.42
  2. Singularity 11.56
  3. Thief 4.22
  4. Nuclear Silence II 0.42

CD 2004 "No One Safe" More Hate Productions/ Russia

  1. No One Safe
  2. Thief
  3. Lilith
  4. Vagina Dentata
  5. Death FM
  6. Singularity
  7. Three of a Perfect Pair

Handle Your Business (officially non-released)

  1. See No Evil, Hear No Evil
  2. Handle Your Business
  3. Shit Happens
  4. A Dubesque Voyage into the Outer Space
  5. Shadow Bride
  6. Lilith (Bonehand Remix by BOG-MOROK)

Official site:

© By MORE HATE PRODUCTIONS | 2000 - 2011 | Design by Hydr